A few months ago, Bon Appetit magazine had a recipe for a chocolate mousse http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Moms-Blender-Chocolate-Mousse-with-Lemon-Cream-237920 done in the blender.  I forgot all about it until yesterday when I looked in my fridge and saw a half pint of heavy cream on its way to expiration and a lone egg waiting to be transformed into something.  Thoughts of bread pudding and homemade butter (not with an egg of course) entered my mind but when my eyes settled on a hunk of dark chocolate, I knew what I had to make.  Usually, I go the more elaborate and traditional French/Julia Child route of warming, separating, whipping, melting, folding, and chilling to make mousse but I wanted the same results with less than half of those steps.  Well, mission accomplished.  The whole process took about fifteen minutes and then chilled for three long hours.  It’s creamy and decadent and I know Julia would be proud.

*This recipe contains a raw egg.

Chocolate Blender Mousse

make 4 servings

1/2 pint heavy/whipping cream
scant 1/2 c. dark chocolate, chopped
3 tblsp. cocoa powder
2 tblsp. brewed coffee (I used some leftover cold coffee)
2 tblsp. maple syrup/sugar
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
pinch of salt
1 egg

In a small saucepan over low heat, gently heat cream.  Add chopped chocolate and stir until melted and combined.  Add the cocoa powder, coffee, maple syrup/sugar, vanilla, salt, and whisk until smooth and creamy.  Strain into a blender and let cool for a few minutes.  Add the egg to the blender and blitz for about 2 minutes.  Scrape down sides and give another blitz.  Pour into four ramekins, cover with plastic wrap, and let chill for at least 3 hours.

