Having left my zip top bag of frozen bananas on the counter all night I was presented with the prospect of either throwing away my precious bananas (usually used for smoothies) or concocting something to use them in.  Banana bread seemed to be an obvious solution.  I am always looking for ways to clean out my fridge and freezer of odds and ends such as a lone carrot that sneaked its way in along with spelt flour.  The fact that I also did without eggs served me well in the end.

Creatively speaking, this banana bread is just another version of my banana coconut bread posted in this blog at an earlier date.  I don’t know if it was my oven (which is suspiciously VERY speedy in preheating)  or the fact that I used about double the amount of bananas but the end result was somewhat under-baked…in a good way.  It is dense and creamy in the middle sort of like a bread pudding without having to collect the bread to make it.  Toasted a bit more under the broiler in thick slices and served with some ice cream or whipped cream makes for some good eating.

Banana Carrot Bread/Pudding

1 c. spelt flour
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
¼ tsp. salt
3-4 ripe bananas, mashed well
½ c. + 2 tblsp coconut milk
1/4 c.  pure maple syrup
3 tbslp. almond oil
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1 tsp. red wine vinegar
1 carrot, peeled and grated

Preheat the oven to 375F and grease an 8 ½” x4 ½ “ loaf pan

In a medium bowl sift together all the dry ingredients (flours, baking powder, baking soda, and salt).  In a large bowl (or with a mixer) mix all wet ingredients until combined (bananas, coconut milk, maple syrup, almond oil, vanilla, and red wine vinegar).  Mix the dry ingredients into the wet and mix till combined and smooth (don’t over mix!).  Stir in the carrots .  Pour into the prepped pan and bake for 30 minutes.

Remove banana bread from the oven and lower the oven temperature to 350F. Bake banana bread for another 10 minutes.  Remove from oven and check for doneness.  A knife when inserted should come out pretty clean and not feel loose when checking if it’s done.

