It’s been a while since I last posted and I must apologize.  It’s because I spend my whole summer at the beach…working.  I spend my days running in the early morning and heading to work at a lovely boutique in Ocean Beach, Fire Island where I also sell my jewelry.  I work with awesome people, the owners of the store, and my sister.  It’s been a hot summer in New York so most of my cooking has been uncooked meals of salads and grilled vegetables and fish.  I have concocted what I term as a “hot cold salad”, which will be discussed further another time.

What I haven’t been doing a lot of is baking and how I have missed it.  Being a workaholic beach-bum  (I work at a boutique at the beach), I have not stocked my cabinets with my usual baking fare and have been relying on what just happens to be leftover in the kitchen.  These cookies were born out of a lack of  ingredients and some creativity.  I did not have any coconut oil so I used a mixture of almond butter, almond oil, and butter as my fats.  My husband ate all of the chocolate chips so I added flaxseeds.  I have been trying to decrease the amount of sugar in my baked items (as I find them too sweet) and this cookie was a success in that half of the sugar was replaced by pureed dates and a sprinkling of cane sugar on top.

The end result was an explosion of subtle flavors all mixing together.  They were dense without being to heavy and carried the natural sweetness of the oats, banana, and dates.  The true sign of success was when I gifted part of the batch my friend Marni at the beach whose son Logan does not like chocolate and also does not like sweet things in general.    Logan requested that his mom save the cookies for him since he doesn’t get to enjoy cookies very often.  These cookies are dedicated to him

Logan’s Almond Butter Oatmeal Cookies

Makes approximately 36 cookies

Dry Ingredients:

2 c. white whole wheat pastry flour
1 3/4 c. oatmeal
1/4 c. ground flaxseeds
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder

Wet Ingredients:

1/2 c. butter (1 stick), softened
1/4 c. almond butter (or any nut butter)
2 tblsp. almond oil
1 ripe banana, mashed
1/2 c. maple syrup
1/2 c. pureed dates (pour boiling water over 1 c. pitted dried dates and soak for 15-20 minutes, strain but keep soaking liquid and puree in blender using a few tablespoons of the soaking liquid to make a paste the consistency pudding.  Measure of 1/2 c. for cookies and reserve the rest if there is any)
2 tblsp. sugar
2 tblsp. pure vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350F and use an un-greased cookie sheet.  I use a silicone baking sheet liner but it’s not necessary.

Combine all of your dry ingredients together in a bowl and mix well.

Cream the butter, almond butter, almond oil, banana, maple syrup, pureed dates, sugar, and vanilla together in a large bowl using a hand-mixer or spatula until all ingredients are mixed well together.  Gradually add in the dry ingredient mixture to the wet ingredients and mix until the dry ingredients are fully incorporated.

Drop by heaping tablespoons (I use a mini ice cream scoop) onto the cookie sheet (I get about 12 cookies on 1 cookie sheet at a time).  Flatten them a little bit with the tines of a fork (like peanut butter cookies) and sprinkle with a bit of sugar if you want.

Bake for 15-18 minutes.    Let cool and enjoy.

