Oh my it has been so long since I have posted!  Yes there are some posts before this but not full posts, just pictures and snippets of a post.  I promise I will remedy this soon.  I have been doing a lot of cooking/baking but have been really lazy about writing down my recipes and now I am paying for it.  I get all psyched to write down a recipe and when I do my brain turns to mush and I am incapable of collecting my thoughts to remember measurements, let alone write something witty.  I suppose that it is fair to say that one of my New Year’s resolutions is to post no more than one day after I cook/bake.

This cake is a lot like my Applesauce Cake that I posted months ago except that it is vegetarian and not vegan as I used milk and not coconut milk.  This cake is moist and nutty with a hint of spice from cinnamon and nutmeg and the surprise addition of mesquite powder.  It also has the surprise ingredient of homemade pearsauce (think applesauce) dusted with Honeybell orange rind.

Preheat oven to 350 F and grease a bundt pan

Pearsauce Streusel Bundt Cake

Pearsauce

4 Bosc pears, peeled, cored, and chopped into 1/2 inch pieces
1/2 c. water
1/4 c. agave/maple syrup
4 strips of rind (without white pithy part) of an orange (I used a Honeybell)

Cook in a saucepan over medium heat until the pears are soft.  Cool slightly and then blend in a blender.  Reserve 1 c. for the cake and reserve the rest.

Streusel Filling

1/2 c. chopped almonds
1/4 c. white whole wheat flour
1/4 c. mesquite powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
3 tblsp. agave/maple syrup
1 tblsp. olive oil or melted coconut oil

Mix the almonds, white whole wheat flour, mesquite powder, cinnamon, and salt together in a small bowl.  Add the agave/maple syrup and the oil and mix until crumbly.  Reserve for use later.

Cake

dry ingredients

1 2/3 white whole wheat flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. salt

Combine all in a bowl and reserve.

wet ingredients

1/4 c. coconut oil, melted
1 c. pearsauce
1/4 c. agave/maple syrup
1/2 c. organic milk/coconut milk
2 tsp. apple cider vinegar

In a large mixing bowl combine all of the wet ingredients and then quickly mix in the dry ingredients and mix until fully incorporated but DON’T over-mix.  Pour half the batter into the prepared bundt pan.  Evenly pour the streusel mixture onto the top of the cake batter.  Pour the rest of the cake batter on top of the streusel and smooth over to cover streusel.   Bake for 25-30 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

I served it plain but it would be lovely with some ice cream or freshly whipped cream or creme’ fraiche.  On further thought a cream cheese frosting would be great slathered on the top for a little added decadence.

