From Monday to Friday I more or less live on soup for lunch.  Usually on Sunday I make up a big pot (in my beloved enameled cast iron Dutch oven) and enjoy big steaming bowlfuls for five days straight.  My soup is either stew like or pureed and in the past always mysteriously orange.  I guess I have a thing for all things carrot, sweet potato, and squash.  In an attempt to change up my lunch time fare I opted to make a leafy green based pureed soup….which still has a sweet potato thrown in for good measure!  This recipe was adapted from the book Love Soup by Anna Thomas, the author of the legendary book The Vegetarian Epicure.  I hope that you enjoy it as much as I did!

Warming Kale and Swiss Chard Ginger Soup

Servings: 5-6 generous portions

1 tblsp olive oil/coconut oil
2 tsp. lemongrass oil/coconut oil
1 large onion, peeled and chopped
4 cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped
1 stalk celery (omit if you don’t have it on hand)
2 inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled and chopped
1 1/2 tsp. salt (more if necessary)
pepper
1 lb sweet potatoes, scrubbed and chopped (I never peel them)
2 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. curry powder
2 tsp. red curry paste
1 can coconut milk
1 bunch chard, washed and cut into ribbons
1 bunch Swiss chard, washed and cut into ribbons
5-6 c. low sodium vegetable stock

In a large stockpot heat the oil(s) over medium heat.  Add in the onions, garlic, ginger, celery, and salt and pepper.  Cook down until onions are caramelized, golden brown, and just look like a pile of golden mush.  Add in the potatoes, cumin, curry powder, red curry paste, and continue to cook for another 5-8 minutes.  Add in the coconut milk and give a few good stirs.  Pour in the vegetable stock and add in the kale and chard.  Bring to a boil, turn the heat down to low, partially cover, and simmer for about 3o minutes.  In batches puree soup and add back to a clean pot.  Bring to temperature, add more broth if needed, and season to taste.  I ate this with some homemade whole wheat bread and even with a sprinkling of whole wheat panko bread crumbs one day.

