Nancy's photos 209

This is a dish that was inspired by the ingredients that I picked up at a small farmstand close to my house.  I wanted to see if I could buy only local ingredients and I was successful on two of the ingredients for sure.  I left the farmstand $2.78 poorer and carried away in my pocketbook was a yellow tomato, small eggplant, and a red onion.  I contemplated what to do with them when I got home.  My mind drifted to a sort of Italian roasted veggie stack oozing with some cheese.  With a growling stomach, that is what I cooked.  It was super easy.  I sort of mashed the whole thing into a lightly toasted pita bread and stuffed in some basil.  I would have made pesto if I wasn’t so hungry.

prep time: 5-10 minutes
cooking time: 25 minutes
servings: 4

1 small eggplant, sliced into 1/2 inch rounds
1 red onion, peeled and sliced into 1/2 inch rounds
1 yellow (or any kind) of tomato, sliced into 1/2 inch rounds
salt and pepper
olive oil
fresh mozzarella cheese

Preheat oven to 450F.  Arrange sliced veggies onto a lightly oiled baking sheet and brush each veggie round with some olive oil and season with salt and pepper.  Roast in the oven until caramelized.  Arrange veggie stacks to your liking on the same oiled baking sheet.  I started with eggplant, sliver of mozzarella, yellow tomato, sliver of mozzarella, red onion, sliver of mozzarella, and repeated that once more.  Push a toothpick through each finished stack and bake for about 10 minutes, until cheese melts.  Serve by itself, as a sort of pizza crudo, along side of your main dish.   Buon Appetito!

