Nancy's photos 182

Wow, it has been ages since I have posted.  I had a busy summer of working in Fire Island (a beautiful beach community on the South Shore of Long Island).  June blessed us with day after day of rain but eventually we received a typical hot August.  All in all, a summer of tightening the belts (financially) but nonetheless, enjoyable with quite a few nice beach days.

It’s now the first of October and apple/harvest festivals have been happening all over the place.  Apples and squash always remind me of the fall and I found myself in the supermarket with a bag of  apples and a few pounds of butternut squash. 

Historically, apple crisps are new to the scene.  They did not grace cookbooks until around 1924 but I imagine that they were being made way before that just based on the ingredients.   Traditionally, crisps are fruit that is topped with a mixture of butter, flour, oats, sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg that results in a crispy crust.  It is sometimes referred to as an “apple crumble” in Great Britain and Canada.

 Growing up, my mother made crisps and cobblers all the time.  Crisps came in the winter and cobblers followed in the warmer summer months.  Mom always (and still does) try to make fruit the center of dessert.  Crisps were served after dinner and I could commonly be seen enjoying a bowlful for breakfast the next morning.  Our crisps always had oatmeal in them so they were a natural breakfast choice anyway.  My mom always made our crisps with butter but I wanted to experiment with a vegan version.  I toyed with the idea of using coconut oil but of all fruits, I feel that apples and coconut are the least compatible, so I opted for olive oil.  You may think that olive oil would impart a strong taste but I found that it just adds another note of fruitiness.  I also used a mix of maple syrup and organic cane sugar (and only a bit of each) because I wanted the natural sweetness of the apples to be the star of the crisp.

prep time: 10 minutes
cooking time: 40 minutes
servings: approximately 6 generous scoopfulls

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

Apple Mixture

6 apples (Granny Smith preferable), cored and sliced
juice of half a lemon
1 tblsp. sugar
2 tblsp. whole wheat pastry flour
1/2 tsp. cinnamon

Crisp Topping

scant 1/3 c. olive oil
1/3 c. maple syrup
2/3 c. rolled oats (not instant)
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. sea salt

Preheat oven to 350F

After cutting, coring, and slicing the apples combine them with the lemon juice, sugar, flour, and cinnamon.  In a lightly oiled baking dish (I used my small casserole dish, probably about a 2 quart dish) place apple mixture in and spread out evenly.

In a small mixing bowl, combine the crisp topping and spoon on top using a tablespoon and then spread out to cover apples.  Bake for 40 minutes.  Cool a bit.  Serve by itself, with ice cream, or whipped cream.  Eat it for breakfast too.

