nancys-photos-159

This is a cake that was inspired by another lovely blogger at http://belachan2.blogspot.com/2008/10/dark-chocolate-yogurt-cake.html and is one of my favorite cake recipes as of yet.  Many of you may have noticed that I don’t like overly sweet things and over the years I have cut out a lot of sugar from my diet.  At this point I am pretty sensitive to how cloyingly sweet most treats are.  When I make desserts/sweets, I test the recipe a few times and mess around with the amount of sugar.  I try to cut it by half but sometimes I do have to add a bit more.  I also have been known to throw a pureed banana in for some extra sweetness but I didn’t do that here. 

I also made a chocolate cream cheese frosting for these sweetenend with maple syrup.  I did it by eye and the measurements of maple syrup and cocoa powder here are not exact.   When serving these, I make it like a sandwich and cradle a spoonful of the frosting between two thin pillow slices (or slivers as my grandmother would call them) of cake. 

I am also a big fan of eating this cold because the cake firms up in the fridge and gets fudgier and the frosting has a sharp chocolate flavor spiked with cream cheese that is awesome.  I am thinking that some fresh mint leaves in the sandwich with some sliced berries would make this even yummier!

Chocolate Yogurt Cake

prep time: 10-15 minutes
cooking time: 50 minutes
serving size: makes approximately 16 slices

1 c whole wheat pastry flour (I buy it in the natural foods area of Stop and Shop)
2/3 c cocoa powder
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 c coconut oil, melted I do this in a small pan over very low heat)
3/4 c Sucanet/Rapadura/sugar
1 c plain whole milk yogurt
3 eggs, whisked
1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350F and grease an 8.5×3.5 loaf pan

In a bowl sift flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt, and set off to the side.  With a mixer (I used my trusty Kitchen-Aid) cream the coconut oil, sugar, yogurt, sugar, eggs, and vanilla together until creamy.  Add in the sifted dry ingredients and mix until completely combined.  Pour into prepped loaf pan and bake for 50 minutes or until knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Cool on wire rack for 20 minutes, take out of pan, and cool completely on wire rack.

Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting

prep time: 5-10 minutes
cooking time: none, you are just mixing for about 5 minutes
serving size: will frost slices of cake above

1 block of cream cheese, softened
1/3 c sour cream or yogurt
1/2-3/4 c cocoa powder
1/4-1/2 c maple syrup
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt

I also did this with my mixer so I wouldn’t get any lumps but you could do it in your food processor also.
Mix the cream cheese, sour cream/yogurt, and cocoa powder together first and add the rest of the ingredients and mix till very creamy and smooth.  Taste and adjust for sweetness and chocolateyness.  Spread on slices of cake.

