nancys-photos-057

So awhile ago I made my own applesauce after I bought a slew of Macoun apples from my local farmer’s market in Islip, NY.  This was about a month ago and needless to say, I have had the applesauce rolling around in my fridge ever since.  I had good intentions of making potato parsnip pancakes as a pre-Hanukkah usage of the extra, but I never got around to it.  I also did not get around to making my granola so I was out of breakfast for tomorrow.  I have spent today paging through my cooking journals and cookbooks trying to figure out what to make for Christmas dinner at my Mom’s in a few days when I came upon a recipe for an apple cake in the book Get it Ripe by Jae Steele.  If you are reading this, I strongly urge you to run out and buy her book right this second.  It’s amazing and she has also won an award for it.  Check her out at: http://domesticaffair.com or http://getitripe.com   It’s vegan and it also reminded me of my Great Aunt Mary’s apple cake that my sister got the recipe for (which I need to get) when going to school in New Orleans (Aunt Mary lived right outside the grounds of the New Orleans Jazz Fest site).  Anyway, I made some adaptations (to Jae’s recipe) and it came out beautifully.  It will be wonderful for breakfast, snacks, or any other time during the day.  I love that it is not too sweet also.

Preheat your oven to 350F and grease a springform pan.  I used one that is nonstick already.

Pecan Crisp Topping

1/2 c. chopped pecans
1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 c. agave nectar
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. salt
2 tblsp. extra virgin olive oil (You could also use a tblsp of walnut oil in the topping)

Combine all these ingredients in a bowl until nice and crumbly and set aside.

Applesauce Cake

Wet Ingredients:

1/4 c.  coconut oil (I use it soft just like room temp. butter)
1 c. applesauce (use a good organic brand it not using homemade)
1/4 c. Sucanet (I buy in 1 lb. bags from a health food store or many health food stores carry the brand Rapadura)
1/4 c. agave nectar (I use the dark one and buy it in one gallon containers online)
1/2 c. coconut milk, diluted (I dilute my coconut milk by mixing 1 can of coconut milk with 1 can of water and blending it)

Cream the coconut oil, Sucanet, and agave together in a large mixing bowl.  Then mix in the coconut milk.  Set aside.

Dry ingredients:
1 2/3 whole wheat pastry flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/2 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. apple cider vinegar (do not add when mixing wet ingredients, it will be stirred in as the last item)

Sift all of the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.  I always add back what has been sifted out of the whole wheat pastry flour.

Mix the dry ingredients into the wet and mix till just combined.  Stir in the apple cider vinegar.  Put batter in pan and distribute crisp topping over the top.  Bake for 25-30 min. and remove from over when toothpick comes out clean. 

I served mine with some vanilla coconut milk ice cream (recipe coming!)

