I forgot to put my spinach on, but I know that you won't.  The pic of the rolled up and finished burrito did not come out as I planned so I left it out.

I am a pretty thrifty person.  Right now, I am thrifty (err…cheap) mostly because I really have to be.  I pay the bills being a Substitute Teacher (while applying for real teaching jobs).  If you don’t already know, subs are not extremely appreciated in the financial compensation area (even though the school districts want us to have Master’s Degrees).  Anyway, that combined with the present economic situation makes my supermarket/farmers market trips a frugal affair.   As I peered into my cabinets last night I spied a jar of dried black beans and immediately BURRITOS popped into my head.  Burritos conjure up thoughts of warmer climates but are also warm and comforting at the same time and the perfect way for me to also use my leftover Golden Nugget Squash Risotto from the previous post.  All I needed were two avocados.  Dinner was a bargain, about $4.00 total and I will get 3 meals from this to boot.

Black Bean Burritos

1/2 lb dried black beans (soaked in H2O overnight then rinsed and drained)
1 tblsp. xtra virgin olive oil
1 medium red onion, chopped
1 shallot, chopped
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and chopped
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 tblsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. ground coriander
2 tsp. ground cumin
1 tsp. cocoa powder
3 C. H2O
sea salt and pepper
whole wheat or sprouted grain tortillas
handful of fresh spinach/arugula
3 sundried tomatoes, chopped

In a large heavy skillet add and heat the olive oil on med/high heat.  Add onion, garlic, shallot, and jalapeno and saute’ until onion and shallot are transluscent and other veggies are soft (add a splash of water if needed to keep veggies from sticking).  Add the chili powder, coriander, cumin, cocoa powder, and stir till combined and cook for a few minutes till fragrant.  Add the drained black beans and the H2O to the skillet and bring to a boil then lower heat to low heat so that beans come to a simmer.  Simmer for 1 hr and then start tasting the beans every ten minutes for doneness (soft but not mushy).  I cooked my beans for about 1 hour and 20 minutes total.  I also covered the pan for about 10 minutes during the cooking process.  When beans are done, remove from the heat and add salt and pepper to taste (taste as you season so it doesn’t get too salty!).

Avocado Crema

I used my Braun Hand Blender to make the crema but you could use your blender/food processor or just mash.

2 avocados, pitted and flesh scooped out
1 garlic clove
juice and zest of 1 lime
salt and pepper

Combine/blend all ingredients except for salt and pepper and process till smooth and creamy.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

On the tortilla I spread some of the Avocado Crema and then laid down the spinach leaves.  Then a mound of leftover risotto from the post before this one followed by a mound of black beans topped with some more Avocado Crema.  Lastly, came a sprinkling of sundried tomatoes.  I wrapped it up as best as possible and ate it on my chaise lounge (my most beach like piece of furniture).  It was yummy.  I forgot to take a photo of the rolled up burrito, I ate it.

