Cocoa Java Lava Cake

After a long weekend away from my kitchen, I am finally back!  Harry and I drove up to Nashua, NH on Thursday to spend the weekend there and run in the Jack London 10K (6.1 miles) Trail Run on Saturday.  I had aspirations of running in the Manchester, NH Half Marathon on Sunday but did not quite make it. 

I also have somewhat of a dirty secret to admit to.  I have been working at eating vegan for the past two months with success.  I have omitted all animal products from my diet and have produced delicious meals and desserts without meat, poultry, fish, eggs, and dairy products of any kind for myself and my family.  I have felt great while doing this and have even increased my endurance in long distance running.  My vegan-ness went out the window in NH this weekend.  Oh I sailed through breakfast every day (I brought my own homemade granola, flax seeds, and coconut milk) but things would fall apart at lunch and dinner.  The restaurants we went to were not very vegetarian/vegan friendly and I got some funny looks and comments when ordering a Roasted Chicken Mixed Green Salad with Feta Cheese, Nuts, and other Veggies without the chicken or cheese!  In any case, to make a long story short, I shared an order of nachos and a hamburger.  They tasted amazing.  I guess my body craves meat and cheese sometimes.  Am I a hypocrite for eating them and then posting mostly vegan recipes?  I don’t know but I am back and attacking my vegan diet with a newfound vengeance and not beating myself up for falling off the wagon of my self imposed rules.

I also bought a new vegan cookbook while away.  I purchased Get it Ripe by Canadian author Jae Steele while on my trip and then salivated the entire time reading the recipes and picking the one that I could make immediately upon arriving home.  I settled on a pudding type cake and made a few adaptations to Nancify it.  I baked it in a Corningware round casserole type dish.  It is so ridiculously easy but very sexy and impressive to serve.  It comes out of the oven with a brownie like exterior with soft silky mocha pudding sections poking through.  Heavenly!

Cocoa Java Lava Cake (adapted from Get it Ripe by Jae Steele)

1/2 c. Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Flour Mix
1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
1 1/4 c. Sucanet
1/2 c. +1tblsp. cocoa powder
1 tblsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1/2 c. melted coconut butter
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. pure almond extract
2 c. fresh hot coffee

Preheat oven to 350 F and grease a square 8×8 Pyrex or round Corningware dish

Combine all of the flour, 1/4 c. + 1 tblsp. cocoa powder, 1/2 c. Sucanet, baking powder, and salt.  Stir in coconut oil, vanilla and almond extracts, and coconut milk.  Stir until dry ingredients are incorporated.  Spread in baking dish.  Combine rest of the Sucanet and cocoa powder in a bowl and sprinkle evenly over batter in baking dish.  Pour the hot coffee over the batter (don’t mix it in) and bake for 45 min.  Serve warm from oven.

