nancys-photos-156

This is a popular weekly dinner for me.  I sometimes make this up to three times and week and just vary my seasoning of the salmon and maybe switch up the vegetable.  It’s ridiculously easy and perfect for when I am eating without my husband or just want a quick meal.  I buy my wild Alaskan salmon at Costco in 2lb bags which means that they are all individually packed and sealed.  I defrost each fillet in the fridge the night or morning before I am planning to cook this.

Prep Time: 6 hours (defrosting time) 1o minutes if you are using fresh wild salmon
Cooking Time: approximately 20 minutes
Servings: as many pieces of salmon as you are making

Salmon

Preheat oven to 350F with dish/cast iron pan/skillet you plan to cook salmon in with a bit of olive oil and/or butter in it

1 salmon fillet, rubbed with olive oil and salt and pepper

Put salmon in your cooking vessel of choice skin side down and roast for about 10 minutes.  Flip the salmon over and roast for an additional 5 minutes.  I usually peel the skin off for presentation.

Broccoli Rabe
*prepare while salmon is cooking

1 bunch of broccoli rabe, well washed and woody portion of stems trimmed off
2 tsp olive oil
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
salt and pepper

Bring a medium pot of water to a boil and add some salt.  Add the broccoli rabe and blanch for about 3 minutes.  Plunge into cold water to stop cooking.  Drain and add broccoli rabe to a pan with olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add the garlic, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper, and saute for about 3 minutes.  Serve alongside salmon.

