nancys-photos-128 I made this partially because I didn’t want to go the grocery store again this week and partially because I am always attempting to use what I have in my pantry. You will also notice that it has the requisite orange color that I seen to duplicate whenever I make soups. Check some of my other soups/stews/dals out here and you will see what I mean! I love Indian food and have been recreating Northern and Southern Indian recipes for the past couple of years. I especially like dals. Dal is essentially a way of preparing dried beans and the stew like dish that is made from them. Dals are commonly made of lentils or split lentils. This recipe was also inspired by a fellow blogger that can be found at http://homecookkirsten.blogspot.com.

 This is great on its own or served atop of brown basmati rice or with whole wheat naan bread or pitas to scoop the dal up.

Red Lentil Dal
1 c. red split lentils, rinsed and sorted (to remove any rocks that may have found their way in)
3 c. H2O
½ tsp. salt
½ c. crushed tomatoes
1 inch of fresh ginger
4 cloves garlic
1 tblsp coconut oil
1 large onion, sliced into thin half moons
1 jalapeno pepper, chopped fine
1 tsp. tumeric
1 tsp. cumin
½ c. coconut milk
Handful of chopped cilantro
Salt and pepper to your liking
Put rinsed lentils into a pot with H2O. In a blender puree up the tomatoes, ginger, garlic, and add to the pot with the lentils and H20. Add tumeric and ½ tsp. salt and a few grindings of pepper to the pot. Bring to a boil and then reduce heat to low, cover, and simmer for about 20 minutes. In a large skillet over medium heat melt the coconut oil and add the onions, jalapeno, 1/ 4 tsp. salt, and pepper and saute till onion is starting to color. Add cumin and curry paste and cook until onions are soft and fragrant. Add the coconut milk, bring to a boil, and reduce heat to low and let simmer until onions are done. Add a bit more coconut milk if onions start to dry out. Add onion mixture to lentils and garnish with some chopped cilantro if you have any.
 

 

 

 

 

