nancys-photos-096

I have been having something of an obsession lately with the continent of Asia and the wonderful array of foods that have come out of it.  Lately, I have been trying to create my own renditions of either Chinese or Thai dishes that I have been fortunate to sample in NYC and London.  Dumplings/potstickers are one of the many dishes stealing my fancy right now.  I love how so many different cultures have a filled type of pasta.  I also love how they are little pillows waiting to be pieces and dipped into waiting sauces.  They can be a meal or a snack.  They can be boiled, steamed, baked (in some instances), and fried. 

I wanted to make these vegan but came up short when searching for a vegan wonton wrapper.   I know I could have made my own dough just as easily with a whole grain flour and water but I was starving and couldn’t be bothered with the whole dough making process.  My market only has a wonton wrapper that among other things contains eggs.  I am sure that if I had gone to an Asian market or searched around some more I may have found the wrappers I wanted.  Feel free to suggest a vegan brand if you know of one!  I was really happy with the way that these came out and even more excited that I got to use my sister’s potsticker/empanada  press (sort of like a larger ravioli maker).  I hope you enjoy these as much I have.

I also have the happy news that this recipe has been posted on my “alma mater’s” website within their March 2009 newsletter.  I owe most of my insight on nutrition and it’s link to the body and overall happiness to the esteemed Institute for Integrative Nutrition in NYC, its founder Joshua Rosenthal, its teachers, and my fellow classmates and alumni(http://integrativenutrition.com).  Thank you!

Dumplings

2 c. finely shredded cabbage (I used red cabbage)
1 carrot grated
3 scallions (green onions) chopped fine
1 1/2 c. shelled edamame (cooked as per package directions, drained, rinsed, and NOT salted)
1/2 finely choppe jalapeno
handful of basil, chopped
pinch of cilantro
1 tblsp. grated/chopped finely garlic
1 tblsp. grate/chopped finely ginger
1 tblsp. toasted sesame oil
salt to taste
1 package wonton wrappers (I used the largest ones)

Dipping Sauce

3 tblsp. shoyu/tamari/soy sauce
1 tblsp. rice vinegar/brown rice vinegar
1 tsp. toasted sesame oil
toasted sesame seeds (optional)

Mix this all together in a bowl.

Dumpling Instructions

Mix  all ingredients together in a bowl until combined and then blitz in the food processor until roughly chopped but not a paste.

Lay a wonton wrapper on your workspace (I used a cutting board on my counter).  Wet all four edges and place on your potsticker mold with a corner facing the handles (will be in a diamond shape).  Mound about 2 tblsp. of filling on your wonton wrapper and then close the potsticker mold tightly so that the edges come together forming a triangle.  Remove excess from edges.  Place on a plate lined with wax paper and greased up with a bit of sesame or olive oil (to prevent sticking).  You could also form these dumplings freehand but I found the wonton wrappers hard to work with without the press (perhaps I was just being lazy also!). 

To cook these I decided to steam them but you could just as easily pan fry them in a bit of olive oil (or the oil of your choice).  I have one of those bamboo steamers so I boiled some water in a shallow skillet that my steamer would fit above.  I lined my steamer with red cabbage leaves and then placed my dumplings in the steamer (about 4 fit comfortably) and put the cover on.  I steamed them for about 5 minutes and then ate them with a very simple dipping sauce.  They were good and such beautiful colors with the red cabbage and edamame being the most prominent.  Just be careful though because red cabbage can stain!

