nancys-photos-084

Now that’s a long name for a muffin.  They are true tropical muffins in every sense, even down to the Tahitian vanilla.  Let me preface the recipe by saying that I eat my own granola 98% of the time for breakfast.  The other one percent of the time I can be seen devouring a bagel with buttery smoked salmon (on a special occasion).  The final percent is when I have run out of granola (and money) and must resort to what is currently in my kitchen.  This morning was one of those days.  I opened my freezer and found a lone box of Hodgson Mills Whole Wheat Muffin Mix (one of the only mixes I ever buy), a ripening banana in my fruit bowl. and some chai spiced tea bags.  I wanted to veganize the recipe that was on the package and this is what I did.  They turned out delicious and had a great texture also.  I added a few chocolate chips to the top of one and I ate that one for breakfast.

Whole Wheat Chai Banana Coconut Muffins

1 box Hodgson Mill Whole Wheat Muffin Mix
1 tblsp. olive oil (I would have used coconut oil but I am out)
3/4 c. fresh brewed chai tea
1/3 c. dried, unsweetened, and shredded coconut
1 ripe banana, pureed
1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 400F and line regular sized muffin/cupcake tins with 6 paper liners.  If your muffin tin has more that six muffin spaces, fill the remaining muffin spaces with a bit of water so they don’t scorch.  In a bowl combine muffin mix, olive oil, chai tea, coconut, banana, and vanilla extract and mix until just blended.  Scoop batter into prepared muffin tin and bake for 15 min.  Remove from oven and cool. 

These would also be great spread with butter (if you are not doing the vegan thing) or jam.  You can also add some chopped nuts and/or a handful (or 2) of chocolate chips.

