choc-chip-oatmeal-cookies2choc-chip-oatmeal-cookies-2

My husband has been requesting chocolate chip cookies for awhile so I thought I would take a shot at veganizing a classic chocolate chip cookie recipe to appease his request while also letting me test a recipe to post to all of you as well.  I am happy to say that these cookies came out splendidly.  They are chewy, chocolatey, and not too sweet.  I also broke out my beloved Kitchen-Aid mixer for this but it can be mixed with pure elbow grease as well.

2 c. old fashioned rolled oats (not quick cooking)
2 c. white whole wheat flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 c. + 2 tblsp. maple syrup
3/4 c. + 2 tblsp. coconut oil
1 ripe banana (but not over ripe) mashed smooth
2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
10 oz. bag of 60-70% chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a mixing bowl, combine rolled oats, whole wheat pastry flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  In another large mixing bowl or Kitchen-Aid mixer bowl/other mixer bowl, combine agave nectar, sucanet, coconut oil, mashed banana, and vanilla extract until well mixed and creamy looking (don’t overmix).  Gradually add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix until the dry ingredients are incorporated into the wet.  Add the chocolate chips and mix so distributed throughout cookie batter.  Measure out in heaping tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheets.  Bake for 13 minutes.  I used my silicone Sil-Pat baking liner so my cookies would have no chance of sticking to the pan.  Remove cookies from baking sheet and set to cool on newspaper.  Enjoy!